Yuma · Arizona

Murders in Yuma, Arizona

Explore 29 named Yuma victim records from 1969–2026, including the La Mesa Street killings, cold cases and dated court outcomes. Search names, dates and reported locations, then follow the supporting sources.

29documented victim records
0mapped locations
15years represented
Coverage: 29 named records reviewed October 18, 2026. This incomplete archive is not Yuma’s homicide total. Two unnamed reports and three related reports are separate. Charges are allegations; a homicide investigation does not establish a murder conviction.
Yuma research guide

Yuma homicide records, cold cases and court outcomes

This directory connects reports about the La Mesa Street killings, the Belleza house-party shooting, neighborhood investigations and historical cold cases. Each named victim has a separate record, so a single incident can contribute several people to the total.

Why follow-up reporting matters

The six La Mesa records include the Arizona Supreme Court’s September 2024 decision. The Cesar Aguilar record notes that charges against two defendants were dismissed in 2025 after new evidence. Eduardo Dominguez’s case ended in a negligent-homicide conviction rather than a murder conviction. Reading only an initial arrest report would miss these distinctions.

Yuma city versus Yuma County

A Yuma news dateline, courthouse appearance or victim’s home address does not establish the incident location. Somerton, San Luis, Wellton and other county communities require their own location checks. The separate research notes identify county cases and unresolved boundary questions rather than adding them to this city count.

Search Yuma records · Review annual coverage · Download records (CSV) · Research notes

Coverage audit

Thirty-year research window: 1996–2026

25 named records fall within October 18, 1996–October 18, 2026. Four additional historical records from 1969–1996 appear in the searchable directory. Every year remains incomplete and unreconciled with a police register. Zero here means no named record added, not zero homicides.

Named records within the research window
YearRecords hereCoverage
20261Partial research
20250No named record added; not zero homicides
20241Partial research
20234Partial research
20222Partial research
20213Partial research
20202Partial research
20193Partial research
20180No named record added; not zero homicides
20171Partial research
20161Partial research
20150No named record added; not zero homicides
20140No named record added; not zero homicides
20130No named record added; not zero homicides
20120No named record added; not zero homicides
20110No named record added; not zero homicides
20100No named record added; not zero homicides
20090No named record added; not zero homicides
20080No named record added; not zero homicides
20071Partial research
20060No named record added; not zero homicides
20056Partial research
20040No named record added; not zero homicides
20030No named record added; not zero homicides
20020No named record added; not zero homicides
20010No named record added; not zero homicides
20000No named record added; not zero homicides
19990No named record added; not zero homicides
19980No named record added; not zero homicides
19970No named record added; not zero homicides
19960No named record added; not zero homicides

Download coverage audit

Unnamed reports awaiting reconciliation

These reports need identity matching and duplicate checks and are excluded from the named count.

Unnamed victim · 2025-04-13

Apartment complex near Avenue A and First Street

A 54-year-old man was fatally stabbed. The April 14 report describes an arrest and murder charge but does not name the victim. Identity reconciliation remains necessary.

Supporting source ↗

Unnamed victim · 2025-05-04

South Madison Avenue and East 28th Street area

A 30-year-old man died after a stabbing. The May 5 report does not name him and describes an ongoing investigation with no suspect in custody.

Supporting source ↗

Download unnamed reports

Related reports held separately

Classification or victim-role questions remain. These reports do not increase the main count.

Leticia Martinez · 2019-10

Somerton; excluded from Yuma city count

The reported killing occurred in Somerton. A Yuma dateline or Yuma court proceeding does not make this a city-of-Yuma case. September 2021 reporting describes a guilty plea and 30-year sentence.

Supporting source ↗

Grady Baxter, Nicholas Grabbe and Javier Sanchez · 2018-09-03

Sheriff-investigated case; municipal boundary not verified

Three men were found shot at a home in the 2700 block of West Fifth Street. Held outside the main city count pending jurisdiction and later-disposition checks.

Supporting source ↗

Ijah Se’lah Smith · 2024-12-20

Interstate 8 / Avenue 36 East; outside city collection

The body was found near the westbound exit ramp at Avenue 36 East. This county case is excluded from Yuma city totals despite Yuma appearing in report headlines.

Supporting source ↗
Yuma homicide directory

Search murders and homicide cases in Yuma

Search by victim, year, street or incident type. Discovery dates are labeled. Written locations are supported by reporting; exact map coordinates have not been verified.

29 records shown
2026-04-26 · Incident date

Valentin Morales, 18

Shooting
500 block of South 15th Avenue, Yuma, Arizona
Morales was struck by gunfire from a vehicle and died after being transported to hospital.

April 28, 2026: police investigation continued. Later disposition not verified.

Yuma Police Department source ↗
2024-08-13 · Incident date

Eduardo Dominguez, 19

Negligent homicide
Desert area around South Avenue 8½ East, Yuma, Arizona
Dominguez was shot and died on August 26. The eventual conviction was negligent homicide, not murder.

August 2026: Keith Simmons received four years for negligent homicide, concurrent with a weapons sentence. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗ KYMA source ↗
2023-09-12 · Incident date

Alexis Rodriguez, 35

Shooting
West Yowell Court and South Avenue B area, Yuma, Arizona
Rodriguez was killed in a shooting that also injured a man.

November 2025: Alexander Delcid received 18 years after pleading guilty to second-degree murder. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗ KYMA source ↗
2023-05-17 · Discovery / response date

Urbano Cano, 73

Homicide
South Fifth Avenue and 24th Street area, Yuma, Arizona
Cano was found dead during a police response.

May 2023: his son was booked on a first-degree murder charge, an allegation. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗
2023-05-13 · Incident date

Ande Blackthunder, 20

Shooting
South J Edward Drive, Belleza neighborhood, Yuma, Arizona
One of two people killed in a house-party shooting. Five others were reported injured.

July 7, 2025 report: Jose Lopez received two consecutive life sentences without parole. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗ KYMA source ↗
2023-05-13 · Incident date

Danny Garcia, 19

Shooting
South J Edward Drive, Belleza neighborhood, Yuma, Arizona
One of two people killed in a house-party shooting. Five others were reported injured.

July 7, 2025 report: Jose Lopez received two consecutive life sentences without parole. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗ KYMA source ↗
2022-05-04 · Incident date

Cesar Aguilar, 15

Shooting
East 26th Place near Mary and Olivia avenues, Yuma, Arizona
Aguilar died in a shooting that injured another teenager.

July 2025: charges against David and Adrian Perez-Arzola were dismissed with prejudice after new evidence. Manuel Trujillo, previously sentenced after a plea, was seeking post-conviction relief; its outcome was not established. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗ KYMA source ↗ KYMA source ↗
2022-04-17 · Incident date

Guillermo Sutton, 41

Shooting
West 12th Street, Yuma, Arizona
Sutton was shot while stopped on his bicycle and later died at the hospital.

April 19, 2022: police reported no identified suspect. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗
2021-11-20 · Incident date

Pedro Aguayo Ramos, 43

Shooting
Near downtown; exact scene not specified in the identity update, Yuma, Arizona
One of two victims of the same shooting. Reports shorten the victims’ names to Pedro Aguayo and Christian Gonzalez.

September 2024: Francisco Dominguez received 50 years after two second-degree murder pleas. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗ KYMA source ↗
2021-11-20 · Incident date

Christian Munoz Gonzalez, 38

Shooting
Near downtown; exact scene not specified in the identity update, Yuma, Arizona
One of two victims of the same shooting. Reports shorten the victims’ names to Pedro Aguayo and Christian Gonzalez.

September 2024: Francisco Dominguez received 50 years after two second-degree murder pleas. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗ KYMA source ↗
2021-09-12 · Incident date

Nicholas Berg, 22

Shooting
100 block of South 10th Avenue, Yuma, Arizona
Berg was found with a gunshot wound and died after emergency care.

September 2021: police reported another man in custody; final charging outcome unverified. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗
2020-08-22 · Incident date

Luis Delgadillo, 21

Shooting
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, Yuma, Arizona
Delgadillo died in a shooting at the motel. A second man was injured.

September 2020: a suspect entered a not-guilty plea. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗ KYMA source ↗
2020-04-07 · Incident date

Isaiah Baker, 18

Shooting
Third Street and Ninth Avenue, Yuma, Arizona
Baker died in a shooting that also injured another man.

April 9, 2020: no suspect information released. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗
2019-12-29 · Incident date

Monico Rico, 37

Shooting
14th Avenue between Ninth Place and 10th Street, Yuma, Arizona
One of two men killed in the same shooting.

December 29, 2019: police were seeking the gunman. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗
2019-12-29 · Incident date

Angel Torres, 28

Shooting
14th Avenue between Ninth Place and 10th Street, Yuma, Arizona
One of two men killed in the same shooting.

December 29, 2019: police were seeking the gunman. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗
2019-07-19 · Incident date

Marcus Jackson, 31

Shooting
Alley behind Estrellita Meat Market, Fourth Avenue, Yuma, Arizona
Jackson was shot and died of his injuries on July 28.

August 2020: Jimmie Roy Jordan received 20 years following a second-degree murder plea. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗
2017-12-17 · Incident date

Joseph Benjamin Roosevelt, 37

Shooting
Maverick Bar, Fourth Avenue, Yuma, Arizona
Roosevelt was fatally shot at the bar.

November 2019 appellate opinion records Carlos Leal’s murder conviction and addresses restitution. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗ Arizona Court of Appeals source ↗
2016-01-09 · Incident date

Victor Sanchez, 15

Shooting
600 block of South 17th Avenue, Yuma, Arizona
Sanchez was shot inside a vehicle and died four days later.

May 2018: Christopher Carreno was sentenced to more than 12 years for manslaughter following a plea. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗
2007-11-02 · Discovery date

Satinder Gill, 62

Strangulation / blunt trauma
His home, Yuma, Arizona
The doctor was found dead at home. The discovery date is shown; reporting indicates he was likely killed the previous day.

2012: Preston Strong was convicted and sentenced to natural life for the murder. Later disposition not verified.

Arizona Daily Independent source ↗ Arizona Supreme Court source ↗
2005-06-24 · Incident date

Luis Rios, 35

Shooting
East La Mesa Street residence, Yuma, Arizona
One of six victims in the La Mesa Street killings.

September 3, 2024: Arizona Supreme Court affirmed Preston Strong’s convictions and sentences. Later disposition not verified.

Arizona Supreme Court source ↗ KYMA source ↗
2005-06-24 · Incident date

Adrienne Heredia, 29

Asphyxiation
East La Mesa Street residence, Yuma, Arizona
One of six victims in the La Mesa Street killings.

September 3, 2024: Arizona Supreme Court affirmed Preston Strong’s convictions and sentences. Later disposition not verified.

Arizona Supreme Court source ↗ KYMA source ↗
2005-06-24 · Incident date

Andreas Crawford, 13

Asphyxiation
East La Mesa Street residence, Yuma, Arizona
One of six victims in the La Mesa Street killings.

September 3, 2024: Arizona Supreme Court affirmed Preston Strong’s convictions and sentences. Later disposition not verified.

Arizona Supreme Court source ↗ KYMA source ↗
2005-06-24 · Incident date

Enrique Bedoya, 12

Asphyxiation
East La Mesa Street residence, Yuma, Arizona
One of six victims in the La Mesa Street killings.

September 3, 2024: Arizona Supreme Court affirmed Preston Strong’s convictions and sentences. Later disposition not verified.

Arizona Supreme Court source ↗ KYMA source ↗
2005-06-24 · Incident date

Inez Newman, 9

Asphyxiation
East La Mesa Street residence, Yuma, Arizona
One of six victims in the La Mesa Street killings.

September 3, 2024: Arizona Supreme Court affirmed Preston Strong’s convictions and sentences. Later disposition not verified.

Arizona Supreme Court source ↗ KYMA source ↗
2005-06-24 · Incident date

Danny Heredia III, 6

Shooting
East La Mesa Street residence, Yuma, Arizona
One of six victims in the La Mesa Street killings.

September 3, 2024: Arizona Supreme Court affirmed Preston Strong’s convictions and sentences. Later disposition not verified.

Arizona Supreme Court source ↗ KYMA source ↗
1996-03-09 · Discovery date

Amberly Mendoza, 10

Asphyxiation
Her bedroom at the family residence, Yuma, Arizona
Mendoza was found dead in her bedroom. The date shown is the discovery date.

2026 reporting describes an FBI reward appeal and an unresolved investigation. Later disposition not verified.

ABC15 Arizona source ↗
1984-04-16 · Date reported in historical review

Evelyn Halsey, 74

Homicide
Her home; street not specified, Yuma, Arizona
Historical case featured in a police interview.

January 2024: included in Yuma’s cold-case review. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗
1979-09-29 · Date reported in historical review

Dorothy Smock, 52

Suffocation
Business at 201 West 17th Street, Yuma, Arizona
Historical case featured in a police interview.

January 2024: included in Yuma’s cold-case review. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗
1969-11-04 · Date reported in historical review

Rhonda Fortney, 20

Shooting
Orange Avenue apartment area, Yuma, Arizona
Historical case featured in a police interview.

January 2024: included in Yuma’s cold-case review. Later disposition not verified.

KYMA source ↗
Yuma murders by year

Yuma homicide cases by year

Browse the years represented in the current directory. These are counts of records documented on this site, not official annual Yuma homicide totals.

20261 records
20241 records
20234 records
20222 records
20213 records
20202 records
20193 records
20171 records
20161 records
20071 records
20056 records
19961 records
19841 records
19791 records
19691 records
Dated legal history

Understanding Yuma case status

An arrest is an allegation, not a conviction. This collection includes reported homicides, murder convictions, manslaughter and negligent-homicide outcomes. Cesar Aguilar’s record includes dismissals and a reported request for post-conviction relief. Later appeals and subsequent rulings may not be represented; each status is a dated research snapshot.

How this directory is built

About the Yuma homicide data

Records are checked against official material and established reporting. Dates of discovery are distinguished from dates of attack. A source’s reported arrest or verdict is dated; no later outcome is assumed. Precise coordinates are left unset when the location is uncertain.

Is this every Yuma murder?

No. These 29 named records are a partial research collection, not official annual totals or a crime-rate comparison.

Why are no map pins shown?

Exact coordinates have not been verified. Written locations and source links remain available.

Are older cases included?

Yes. Four records from 1969, 1979, 1984 and March 1996 precede the rolling 30-year window and remain in the searchable directory.

Does this include all of Yuma County?

No. No county-wide total is implied. Somerton, San Luis and surrounding communities require separate jurisdiction checks.

Arizona directories

Explore more Arizona homicide records